

भारतीयप्रौद्योगिकीसंस्थान (भारतीयखनिविद्यापीठ), धनबाद Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines), Dhanbad



For Immediate Release: June 21, 2022

PRESS RELEASE

International Day of Yoga (IDY) celebrated in IIT (ISM) with Special Yoga Session at Lower Ground of Institute; winners of Open Yoga Competition also felicitated during the prize distribution function.

International Day of Yoga has been celebrated with a Special Yoga Session held in lower ground of IIT (ISM) today, during which Prof Rajiv Shekhar, Director IIT (ISM); Prof Dheeraj Kumar, Deputy Director; Prof MK Singh, Dean of Student Welfare (DSW); Prof ACS Rao, Chairperson- Sports & Physical Education Centre (SPEC) and Shri DN Acharya, Physical Education and Sports Officer besides others were present.

The day also witnessed the felicitation of winners of Open Yoga Competition.

The Open Yoga Competition was held on June 11 in six categories including the Children (Female), Children (Male), Officer/Staff/Dependent (Female), Officer/Staff/Dependent (Male); Student (Boys), Student (Girls).

The 40 minute session during which officers, staff, family members of officers and staff began early in the morning at around 6.20 a.m. sharp in the ground and concluded at around 7 a.m.

Speaking during the occasion, Prof Rajiv Shekhar said, "Physical fitness is one of the most significant part of the personality of a human being and one's body should be flexible"

He also congratulated the SPEC team led by Prof ACS Rao for organizing the International Day of Yoga successfully.

Notably, month long Yoga activities were organized by IIT (ISM) SPEC in the run up to the International Day of Yoga (IDY and an Open Yoga Competition was also organized on June 11.

The winners of different categories received the prizes during the felicitation function on their own or by any of their family member.

In Children (Male), Shreyansh Kumar (Son of Neru Kumari) won the 1st prize while, Prakash and Rakesh (sons of Prof ACS Rao) won the second and third prizes respectively. The fourth place in category was bagged by Mayank Mahto son of Vijay Kumar Mahto.

In the Children (Female) Category, Ananya Sanjeevani (Daughter of Uttam Kumar) won the 1st place while the second position went to Shreya Kumari (Daughter of Neru Kumari).

Among the Faculty/Staff/Dependent Sourav Debnath (Central) emerged as champion while Sharvan Singh (New Lecture Hall Complex) and SP Tiwari emerged at 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Subhashree Pradhan of Mining Engineering Department emerged champion in the Female Faculty/Staff/Dependent Category while Nilu Kumari (Office of Dean IRAA) and Monalisa Nayak (Central Library) bagged 2nd and 3rd prize respectively.

Among the student (Boys), Harsh Kumar of Petroleum Engineering won the 1^{st} position while Jitu Barupal (Mechanical Engineering) and Harsh Kumar Gupta (Petroleum Engineering) bagged the 2^{nd} and 3^{rd} prizes respectively.

Phone: (0326) 2235447, Email: dmbc@iitism.ac.in



भारतीयप्रौद्योगिकीसंस्थान (भारतीयखनिविद्यापीठ), धनबाद Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines), Dhanbad



In Student (Girls) category, Saloni Kumar of Mining Engineering department emerged winner while two participants of Mechanical Engineering Department Ushoshi Saha and Roma Singh, bagged the 2nd and 3rd positions respectively.

Rajni Singh

Dean (Media & Branding)

Phone: (0326) 2235447, Email: dmbc@iitism.ac.in